Cheap Insurance Maryland
Driving in Maryland: Statewide Stats
The state of Maryland’s mandated car insurance requirement allows motorists to save money by enrolling in defensive driving courses and purchasing vehicles unattractive to thieves. That is one of the many discounts available in the state. Drivers are encouraged to ask about others, and explore the numerous options for cheap insurance Maryland agents can offer.
The most effective way of keeping your rates low is to let companies fight for your business! We recommend getting comparison quotes twice a year, or more. It is easy to do online, but you can always call and speak to a license professional who has access to many of Maryland s insurance companies.
The average 12-month car insurance premium in Maryland was $1360 in December of 2013. Pretty expensive, if you ask us! In fact, only 5 states have higher average premiums!
These rates are due in part to the 15% of drivers who are uninsured. That and the fact that Maryland has a 5-year average of over 103,000 car crashes per year.
State Car Insurance Requirements
- Maryland mandatory minimum bodily injury coverage per individual is $30,000.
- Maryland mandatory minimum bodily injury coverage per accident is $60,000.
- Maryland mandatory minimum property damage liability coverage is $15,000.
- If your vehicle has been turned down by two insurance companies, or cancelled by one, Maryland offers the MAIF auto insurance fund. More information can be found here .
- There are almost 4 million registered vehicles on the road in MD, and 4.1 million drivers.
Did you know?
- When first constructed in 1813, Maryland’s Casselman River Bridge was the largest in the world.
- MD is one of the smallest, but most densely populated states.
- It s also the wealthiest state in the nation (highest median household income).
- Major economic industries are transportation, the Federal Government, food-production (especially commercial fishing), and medical research.
- Some of the silliest laws we came across were: It s illegal to take a lion to the movies in Baltimore and, in Rockville, you can t swear while on the highway (although we re not sure how you would get caught doing this one)!
Maryland’s Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Administration Office handles most vehicle-related issues; their website may be found here. A full listing of offices by county, with maps, is available here .
Maryland vehicle registrations are handled by the Motor Vehicle Administration office and require passage of a Maryland Safety Inspection. A full listing of offices by county, with maps, is available here .
New vehicles must be registered within 60 days, and new residents must register their vehicles within 60 days of becoming a resident.
Drivers convicted of a DUI in Maryland will face the following penalties:
- up to 1 year in jail
- up to $1,000 in fines
- minimum 6 months license suspension
As of 2011, MD requires all offenders to have an ignition interlock device installed if your BAC was .15 or greater. Legislation is being pushed by MADD that would require the device for all convicted offenders, as there were 160 drunk driving fatalities in 2012 (representing 32% of all traffic deaths).
The Bottom Line
Although Maryland s population is the wealthiest in the nation, that doesn t mean you have to pay higher auto insurance rates! Give us a call if you re shopping. A licensed agent can walk you through the process, compare your options, and make sure you are paying the lowest available rates.
Or, if you want to speak to a local agent, head to one of our city pages below!
We Have Your Town Covered!
Average Annual Premiums in Maryland = $1,372 | via Insure.com
Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance? Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.
OR speak to an agent: