Nashville Neighborhoods – Middle Tennessee Communities #community #colleges #in #nashville #tn #area


Nashville Neighborhoods

Nashville, it’s Metro, Economic Market Area are filled with dozens of different Cities, Communities Counties along with hundreds of local Neighborhoods. Each one has it’s own unique character, style and location within the Nashville and Middle Tennessee Area. If I’ve missed listing your unique community please let me know and I’ll make sure to add it – Jan Duke

Nashville Rush Hour Traffic. Jan Duke

Nashville: Local Area Information

Find explore some useful information about Nashville and Middle Tennessee from local drive times to annual weather conditions.

Davidson County

Davidson County was established in 1783 and was named after General William Davidson, a Revolutionary war officer. The City of Nashville and Davidson County merged together in 1963 creating Metro Nashville. The actual Metropolitan Government of Nashville Davidson County encompasses 502 square miles and is divided into 14 communities known as subareas. Each one has it’s own unique character, style, neighborhoods, location within the borders of Metro Nashville Davidson County.

Downtown Nashville

The Downtown Nashville Community (aka subarea 9) is located in the heart of Nashville and includes the richest of Nashville History. Its streets contain some of the cities best tourist attractions and ultimate urban lifestyles. It offers eight distinctive neighborhoods that include the core of downtown Nashville.

East Nashville

The East Nashville Community (aka subarea 5) is located on the Eastern side of the Cumberland River directly across from Downtown Nashville. This community contains some of Nashville’s most historic homes from the early days of Nashville.

Hermitage Donelson

This community (subarea 14) includes several areas that are steeped with Nashville history as well as Country Music and offers plenty of tourism opportunities including: Opryland, Percy Priest Lake, Nashville Shores and, of course, the Hermitage; the home of former president Andrew Jackson.

Midtown Green Hills

The Midtown Nashville Community (aka subarea 10) is located across from Downtown Nashville I-40 It stretches south southwest of Nashville all the way to the Williamson County line. Within its boundaries you will find Green Hills, Music Row and several Universities, including one of the nations finest, Vanderbilt.

North Nashville

The North Nashville Community, one of the oldest in Nashville, is located to the north northwest of downtown Nashville. This small area (subarea 8) covers Metro Center down to the border of Bicentennial Mall and includes a rich history of early Nashville.

North East Nashville

Another somewhat rural community is that of Parkwood and Union Hill (subarea 2) but its next door neighborhood, the Madison community (subarea 4) is the mirror opposite and has been populated and repopulated for decades. Madison has some wonderful history but to date still seems to be one of Nashville’s most historically underrated areas.

North West Nashville

The Joelton area (subarea 1) has historically been a rural community and one of the least populated of the Metropolitan Nashville-Davidson County communities although the closer you are into Nashville the more populated it is. The rural communities normally begin after you leave the Bordeaux area (subarea 3) and cross over Briley Parkway into White’s Creek which is also part of subarea 3.

South Southeast Nashville

Metro Nashville communities located south and southeast of Nashville include the South Nashville, Southeast, Antioch Percy Priest Communities also known as subareas 11, 12, 13.

West Nashville

Metro Nashville communities located in West of Nashville include the West Nashville Bellvue Communities also known as subareas 6 7.

Harpeth River. Jan Duke

Cheatham County

Cheatham County was formally established in 1856 by dividing portions of Davidson, Dickson, Robertson, and Montgomery counties and named after Edward S. Cheatham (1818-1878), a Tennessee state legislator. Cheatham County encompasses 303 square miles.

Dickson County

Dickson County was formed in 1803 from parts of Montgomery and Robertson counties. The county was named in honor of William Dickson (1770-1816), a Nashville physician and statesman.Dickson County encompasses 490 square miles.

Maury County

Maury County was created in 1807 from Indian lands and parts of Williamson County. It was named after Abram P. Maury (1766-1825), a prominent surveyor, politician of the region, state senator, and lawyer.Maury County encompasses 613 square miles.

Montgomery County

Montgomery County was established 1796 and was named after Colonel John Montgomery, a Revolutionary War officer, founder of Clarksville, and signer of the Cumberland Compact. Montgomery County encompasses 539 square miles.

Bell Witch Cave. Jan Duke

Robertson County

Robertson County was established in 1796 from parts of Tennessee (now known as Montgomery) and Sumner Counties; it was named after James Robertson (1742-1814), one of the original founders of Nashville, and state senator. Robertson County encompasses 477 square miles.

Rutherford County

Rutherford County was established in 1803 from parts of Davidson, Williamson and Wilson counties and was named after Griffith Rutherford (1721-1805), a Revolutionary War general. Rutherford County encompasses 619 square miles.

Sumner County

Sumner County was created in 1786 from parts of Davidson County and was named after Colonel Jethro Sumner (1733-1785), an officer of the Revolutionary War and soldier of the French and Indian Wars. Sumner County encompasses 529 square

Williamson County

Originally carved out of a part of the south end of Davidson County, Williamson County was established in 1799 and named after Hugh Williamson (1735-1819), a North Carolina politician, surgeon general, and member of Congress. Williamson County encompasses 582 square miles.

Lebanon Town Square. Jan Duke

Wilson County

Wilson County, created from Sumner County, was established in 1799 and was named for Major David Wilson (1752-1804?), a Revolutionary War hero and member of the North Carolina legislature. Wilson County encompasses 571 square miles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *