#motels in nelson
We stayed at the Villa Motel in Nelson for 1-night on the B.C. Day long weekend ($101). The motel is located on a small knoll just across the bridge as you leave Nelson. It is a long, narrow building, 2-stories on one side and one on the other, with the office in the middle and a parking lot in front – just another roadside motel. But as you drive in, you begin to notice a few differences – the nice little table and chairs in front of each unit, its impeccable maintenance, ongoing work to improve the grounds.
Our room was on the 2nd floor of a separate building that housed the pool and jacuzzi (heavily chlorinated) on the ground floor. It was almost a small suite, with a sitting area (sofa, table, chest of drawers, huge 36 in flat screen TV) in front and the bedroom (queen bed, end tables, open clothes rack) in the back. There were windows in the bedroom and sitting area, but they opened onto public areas, so the blinds must be drawn, making the room a bit dark. The room was meticulously clean, with new carpet and paint; AC and mini-refrigerator in the sitting area, but no in-room safe. The bathroom was small, but with new fixtures; the water temperature in the shower, however, fluctuated in an annoying way. There were sitting areas on the balcony in front of the room, and a picnic area below on the grass.
The motel’s biggest drawback was its continental breakfast. Virtually nothing was provided – just weak coffee and some cereal. There was a waffle machine, but the batter had been sticking to the grill, leaving chunks of torn waffles everywhere. There was a toaster, but no bread was provided.
In summary, the Villa Motel is a roadside motel that the owners are obviously making efforts to maintain and upgrade. Unfortunately, it does not deliver the quality I would expect at the price charged. Try it only if you have run out of other options.
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is great to hear our work on our exterior is being noticed. Thank you for that kind feedback. On behalf of our morning breakfast staff, allow me to apologize for the service you received during our complimentary continental.
We do understand our free breakfast service is not entirely working out the way we had planned. This motel was acquired almost 10 years ago. There was no breakfast area for our guests however we wanted to offer one for our guests on the go. We settled to use our lobby area, which is quite limited in space. We understood a few years ago that this was not a permanent solution as the #1 complaint about us was about the free breakfast we offered. Starting in 2018, the Villa Motel will be starting a new restaurant on-site that will be offering a paid hot breakfast buffett and an a la carte menu.
This year we are looking to upgrade our standard queen rooms. It just took us awhile longer to upgrade our suites and kitchenettes, perhaps more than expected initially.
I strongly feel our room rate is very competitive. The other inns and motels in town are offering similar rates (-10/+30) and the hotels priced +50 to +120. Most of the inns and motels do not have a breakfast on site, swimming pool, hot tub, laundry services, restaurant on site, and free parking. Also remember that during the month of your stay it is very often that all of Nelson accommodations do sell out. This is the prime time of the year. We will always continue to keep our rates at a competitive price.
We take pride in that each year we continually improve the motel and the services. We also understand we haven’t been able to reach the standard we set as our goal during the past 9 years, although we’ve made great strides forward.
Please do visit Nelson, BC again as this region is almost magically beautiful.